Can’t Wait Wednesday: I Can’t Wait For Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin

Can't Wait Wednesday

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books that we’re excited about and have yet to read. The idea is based on Waiting on Wednesday, which was previously hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

Oh would you look at that? Look who’s missed several CWW’s in a row… again. I’m back again, sorry guys! I’ve been busy with other commitments, and to be honest finding the time to sit and write out a blog post has been really difficult recently – hell, I’m still catching up on reviews from three weeks ago!

My choice for this week’s CWW is a YA Fantasy that caught my attention because I’ve heard it’s rather romance heavy (which I am all here for!) and is reminiscent of A Court of Mist and Fury, which – in case you did not know – is one of my all time favourite books!

Serpent & Dove (Serpent & Dove, #1)

Serpent & Dove (Serpent & Dove #1)

Series: Serpent & Dove

Author: Shelby Mahurin

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Release Date: 3rd September, 2019

Publisher: HarperTeen

Summary

Bound as one to love, honor, or burn.

Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned.

Sworn to the Church as a Chasseur, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. His path was never meant to cross with Lou’s, but a wicked stunt forces them into an impossible union—holy matrimony.

The war between witches and Church is an ancient one, and Lou’s most dangerous enemies bring a fate worse than fire. Unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, a choice must be made.

And love makes fools of us all.

Goodreads |

This is Shelby Mahurin’s debut novel, and I cannot wait to see what she has in store for us all! I love, love, love witches so this is super high on my TBR, now if only September would come around sooner, that would be the icing on this cupcake.

Happy reading,
Francine xo

Review: Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1)Cinder

Author: Marissa Meyer

Series: The Lunar Chronicles

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Retellings

Published: 3rd January, 2012

Source/Publisher: Puffin

Rating: ❤❤❤❤

Goodreads

Summary

A forbidden romance.

A deadly plague.

Earth’s fate hinges on one girl . . .

CINDER, a gifted mechanic in New Beijing, is also a cyborg. She’s reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s sudden illness. But when her life becomes entwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she finds herself at the centre of a violent struggle between the desires of an evil queen – and a dangerous temptation.

Cinder is caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal. Now she must uncover secrets about her mysterious past in order to protect Earth’s future.

This is not the fairytale you remember. But it’s one you won’t forget.

REVIEW

I’m going to start this off by saying that dystopia and/or sci-fi books are so far out of my comfort zone, and I’ve avoided them like the plague for ages. But after a billion recommendations from people over various platforms, I caved and borrowed a copy of Cinder from my local library. I think it’s fair to say that I fell in love with this book, its characters, and the world that Marissa Meyer has created.

Cinder is the best mechanic in New Beijing, a city with a plague problem that takes the lives of many shortly after infection, with no cure in sight. The crowned prince, Kai, *swoon for days* comes to her for help fixing an android that his royal mechanics can’t seem to fix. From there the plot thickens with the arrival of an evil queen, secret agendas, and a war between Earth and the Lunar colony.

I really enjoyed the author’s twist on the classic fairytale, Cinderella, and while there is romance in this book – it does not overpower the fantastic plot, which ends on a complete cliffhanger by the way. And may or may not have left my heart in pieces on the floor.

Cinder was an excellent start to the Lunar Chronicles and dare I say this might be the series to convert me into a sci-fi lover! The next book in the series looks absolutely amazing, and I cannot wait to start reading it.

Happy reading,
Francine x